EEMGS Annual Meeting: 14 – 18 August 2016

Location: Panum Building, Copenhagen, Denmark
‘Bridging genomics, human environmental health risk assessment and the 3Rs in animal science’

The 45th Meeting of the EEMGS is being organised by:
• European Environmental Mutagenesis and Genomics Society (EEMGS)
• The European Concensus Platform of Alternatives (ECOPA)

With thanks to our main sponsor – the journal Basic and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology. More sponsorship opportunities are sought.

Within human environmental health risk assessment a paradigm shift is occurring. Moving from the use of traditional toxicological studies towards new technologies including human biomonitoring and animal free adverse outcome pathway analyses on cell cultures of human origin. This paradigm shift requires the application of new concepts making it essential to inspire and educate young scientists to make use of these new technologies. The meeting will focus on presentations of state of the art methodologies in Nordic and European countries and challenges in current areas of importance: Genetic load, Endocrine disruption, neurological disturbances and substances as pesticides, nanomaterials, advanced testing strategies.

This meeting has major emphasis on engaging young scientists and a limited number of grants of 300€ are available. Please submit your abstract before the 6th May and indicate on your booking that you wish to apply for a grant. This should be accompanied by an email to the local organiser and President Lisbeth E. Knudsen, with recommendations from your supervisor. As well as the regular EEMGS grants, there are a number of special grants for 3R topics. You should specify if you want to apply for an EEMGS, ECOPA or 3R centre grant when you register to submit your abstract.

Conference Themes

Monday 15th

Stream A: Nanosafety and genotoxicology
Stream B: Environmental health – air pollution

Tuesday  16th

Stream A: Impurities and genotoxicity testing in medicines and products
Stream B: Biomarkers

Wednedsday 17th

Stream A: Regulatory challenges in genotoxicity
Stream B: DNA repair and cancer

Thursday 18th

3Rs in genotoxicology, coorganised with ECOPA

Signature LK
Lisbeth E Knudsen

EEMGS President

Organising Committee

Lisbeth E. Knudsen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark (chair)
Jørn A. Holme, Norwegian Institute of Public Health, (vicechair)
Margareta Törnqvist, Stockholm University, Sweden
Tuula Heinonen, president of ecopa, FICAM, University of Tampere, Finland
Kristín Ólafsdóttir, University of  Iceland
Roland Froeschl, Genetic Toxicology, BfArM, Germany
Morten Fjorholt, ENVIGO, Denmark
Leon Mullenders, LUMC, Department of Human Genetics, Netherlands
Jan Topinka, Institute of Experimental Medicine AS CR
Simon Reed, Cardiff University, United Kingdom
Vilhelm Bohr, NIH/NIA/IRP, US
David Kirkland, Kirkland Consulting, United Kingdom
Erwin Roggen, 3Rs Management and Consulting
Eugenia Dogliotti, Istituto Superiore di Sanità, Italy
Lene Juel Rasmussen, University of Copenhagen

Local Organising committee:
Lisbeth E. Knudsen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Nina Ostenfeldt, Lundbeck A/S Denmark
Mona-Lise Binderup, National Food Institute, Denmark
Per Spindler, Biopeople, Denmark
Morten Fjordholt, ENVIGO, Denmark